I believe that social media is a wonderful tool. My first use of social media was when I was in high school and I created my very own Myspace account. I instantly loved it because I was able to reconnect with old friends and family members who lived out of state. As we all know technology is always changing. As I became older I realized there are more social media sites that were becoming popular. I now have a facebook, instagram, snapchat, twitter, and countless other accounts that I am constantly updating. Social media has become apart of our daily lives. I even have the ENews app on my phone. An alert is sent to me when there is breaking Hollywood celebrity news. I mean there really is an app for everything. Social media is booming and I believe it is only going to continue to grow bigger than it already it.

Courtesy of social-media
          Courtesy of social-media

     Social media can play a huge role in education. I think that it would be awesome to have a twitter account for the class. Parents could be notified of any school projects or activities that are taking place. I know from experience from coaching that information does not always get delivered to the parents from the student. The more parent communication you have the happier everyone is. It would also be a great way to post due dates and deadlines for assignments. There would be no more surprises to parents about a science project being due the next morning when it is 9:00pm the night before. I definitely plan on using social media in my future classroom to help parent/teacher communication. For more information and opinions about social media use in the classroom here is an article.

http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/teaching-with-technology-articles/using-social-media-classroom/

One thought on “Social Media

  1. Great post! I have actually seen some teachers have a twitter account just for classes. The students love it cause they know when upcoming assignment are due. As for myself, I’m not sure if I could quite handle that yet. Another cool Another social media teachers participate is having their own website for each class. This keeps both parents an students involved in academics. It’s really neat to research and see how social media can enhance learning. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment